Sheila Johnson
Public Information Officer, Nebraska Environmental Trust
Phone: (402) 471-5409
Fax: (402) 471-8233


Press Release: Sherry Vinton New Chairman of the Nebraska Environmental Trust Board


Lincoln, NE –July 20, 2015– Sherry Vinton of Whitman was recently elected Chairman of Nebraska Environmental Trust Board during the July 14, 2015 Board Meeting held in Nebraska City, Nebraska. A board member from the state’s third congressional district, Sherry has served on the Environmental Trust’s Board since March 2007.

Sherry is an active partner in the current ranching enterprise along with her husband, Chris. Two of their three adult children and their families have now joined the operation to continue the ranching tradition. Currently, Sherry serves on the Grant County planning commission, as a mentor for the Nebraska Grazing Lands Coalition, and is serving in her second appointment to the Cattleman's Beef Board. She has also served on advisory committees for Gudmundsen Sandhills Research Lab and Farm Credit Services. As a member of St. Mary’s parish she enjoyed teaching CCD for 12 years. Combining environmental, agricultural and land use planning interests, Sherry is an advocate for private property rights information and education. Chris and Sherry are members of Nebraska Farm Bureau, Nebraska Cattlemen and Stewards of the Range.

Commenting on her recent appointment, Ms. Vinton said, “As a lifelong Nebraskan, I'm grateful for the opportunity that the Trust has offered for me to give something back and serve our truly unique state.  After more than thirty years of being a steward, or rancher, on Nebraska land I'm still in awe of its natural beauty, abundant wildlife and the productivity our state provides.  Young adults of today are supporting ecological practices, forming community projects and have a remarkable intuitive grasp of modern technology.  I look forward to working with all their new energy”.

Mr. Greg Ibach, Director of the Nebraska Department of Agriculture was appointed Vice-Chairman.

The Trust Board is comprised of 14 members representing the State of Nebraska and its citizens. Nine citizen representatives are appointed by the Governor to serve six year terms. Three representatives are chosen from each congressional district, serve without pay and represent a wide variety of natural resource interests. Five agency directors make up the remaining seats on the board to provide coordination with existing state resources. A staff of five handles the day-to-day activities of the organization.

The Nebraska Legislature created the Nebraska Environmental Trust in 1992.  Using revenue from the Nebraska Lottery, the Trust has provided grants in excess of $233 million to more than 1,700 projects across the state.  Anyone – citizens, organizations, communities, farmers and businesses – can apply for projects involving habitat, surface and ground water, waste management, air quality and soil management in Nebraska.  The Nebraska Environmental Trust works to preserve, protect and restore our natural resources for future generations.

For more information, you may contact Ms Sheila Johnson at 402- 471-1714.


Ms. Vinton

Ms. Vinton